Umoja Kwanzaa

Kwanzaa has seven core principles or Nguzo Saba, the first of these is Umoja, Swahili for Unity. It purpose set the tone for the other six: To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.  Each principle has a day in reflection, which are:
  • Kujichagulia - Self-Determination
  • Ujima - Collective Work and Responsibility.
  • Ujamaa - Cooperative Economics.
  • Nia - Purpose
  •  Kuumba - Creativity.
  • Imani -  Faith.

Though this is an African American cultural holiday, you indeed don't have to be African American to appreciate principles that encourage community and faith. Given the political and cultural climate of this year, the United States could use a bit more community cooperation and respect for each other.  

Here in Washington D.C., there are many events available to the public for this holiday.  To learn more about Kwanzaa, go the official site at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...